Home > Collegiate Home > Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year

 The NCBCA Coach of the Year was first awarded following the completion of the 2000-01 season. The award was re-named in 2003 to the NCBCA Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year Award in honor of longtime Erie Community College coach Kerm Helmer, who lost his battle with cancer on Oct. 20, 2002. The awards are determined by selecting five finalists in each of the divisions by a committee of NCBCA member coaches. Members of the NCBCA decide on the final selection.

2014 Mark Lewis, Wichita State
2013 Mark Lewis, Wichita State
2012 Ron Damron, Pikeville
2011 JJ Mastny, Midland
2010 Ron Damron, Pikeville
2009 Pat Costello, Central Florida
2008 Scott Savage, Purdue
2007 Mark Lewis, Wichita State
2006 Pat Costello, Central Florida
2005 Pat Costello, Central Florida
2004 Ron Damron, Pikeville
2003 Mark Scroggins, West Texas A&M
2002 Bill Kolacek, Indiana State
2001 Gordon Vadakin, Wichita State
2014 Shawn Wochner, Wisconsin-Whitewater
2013 Mike Kubacki, Calumet
2012 Bobby Brown, Morehead
2011 Bobby Brown, Morehead
2010 Joe Slowinski, Webber International
2009 Billy Murphy, Newman
2008 Dave Nagelhout, William Paterson
2007 Chris Preble, Fresno State
2006 Glenn Carlson, Fresno State
2005 Glenn Carlson, Fresno State
2004 Gary Sparks, Vincennes
2003 Gary Sparks, Vincennes
2002 Mike Fine, Kansas
2001 Karl Nickolai, Michigan State


Gordon Teigen Service Award | Rookie of the Year | Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year
NCBCA All Americans | IBMA All Americans | NAIA All Americans | NTCA Awards

United States Bowling Congress | 621 Six Flags Drive | Arlington, Texas 76011 | 800-514-BOWL.