State titles claimed in Florida, Hawaii

Spencer Shumway, a junior from Lyman High School, edged Jupiter High School sophomore Nick Speanburg to capture the 2009 Florida High School Athletic Association state boys' bowling title held at Boardwalk Bowl in Orlando, Fla.

Shumway, the No. 12 qualifier, took the title by winning the best-of-three championship match. He won the first game, 279-247 before Speanburg came back to take Game 2, 248-206. Shumway then took the deciding game, 268-235.

Ana Koff of Gulliver Preparatory School took the girls' state title with a 2-0 victory over Kimberly Reynolds. Koff dropped her first game in a 2-1 victory in the opening round but did not lose another game en route to the title.

Mainland High School of Daytona Beach claimed the boys' team title while Santaluces High School of Lantana won the girls' team crown.

For complete results of the Florida state tournament, click here.

At the Hawaii High School Athletic Association Billy Tees State Bowling Championships held at the Schofield Bowling Center, the Hawaii Baptist Academy boys' team took home the title for the fourth time in the last six years. The team also won state crowns in 2004, 2006 and 2007.

Kapolei High School claimed the girls' team title, outdistancing second place Kalani by 264 pins.

Jaron Goto, a senior at Hawaii Baptist, claimed the individual state boys' title while Raelena Mattos of Kapolei High School beat Tammi Sakaguchi by eight pins for the girls' title.

For full results of the Hawaii state tournament, click here.