Home > About USBC Home > USBC Committees


Association Outreach Committee
Purpose: The Association Outreach Committee’s purpose is to identify and implement opportunities for USBC to provide the network of volunteer leaders serving the USBC membership the necessary support, training and mentoring to promote success at all levels of the organization.

Committee members: Jan Schmidt (chair), Brian Bulko, Jay Daryman, Karen Jost, Melissa McDaniel. Staff liaisons: Mike Larsen and Mike Spridco

Audit Committee
Purpose: To ensure all financial matters of the organization are conducted legally, ethically, and in accordance with proper accounting rules. This committee is independent of the Finance Committee and will give the Board assurance that audited financial statements are accurate and comprehensive and reduce any possible conflicts of interest between outside auditors and paid staff of USBC.

Committee members: Robert Spigner (chair), Mike Italia, Tom Martino, Joe Spain. Staff liaison: Chad Murphy

Awards and Recognition Committee
Purpose: The purpose of the Awards and Recognition Committee is to provide oversight and direction for the USBC Membership Achievement Awards program and to select and recognize outstanding service in awarding the following USBC National Recognition Awards:  Proprietor of the Year, Joyce Deitch Unity Award; Helen Baker Outstanding Association Service.

Committee members: Jo Dimond (chair), Bob Ashley, Mike Italia, Cornell Jackson, Kelly Kulick, Steve O’Brien, Nancy Schenk. Staff liaison: Jason Overstreet

BVL Committee
Purpose: Serves as the liaison to the Bowlers to Veterans Link.

Committee members: Tony Colangelo, Libbi Fletcher, Marci Williams.

Diversity Committee
Purpose: USBC leadership and staff is committed to improving existing and forging new relationships to remove any perceived barriers to the sport, and to bring diversity to all phases of the organization.

Committee members: Cornell Jackson (chair), Jay Daryman, Jan Schmidt. Staff liaison: Tramon Thomas

Equipment Specifications Committee
Purpose: In concert with the USBC Strategic Planning Committee, this committee shall proactively maintain and protect the integrity of the sport. The committee shall make final decisions regarding all equipment on which USBC approval is requested, and shall set policies and procedures regarding equipment, specifications and all activities associated with regulating bowling center certificates.

Committee members: Andrew Cain (chair), Mike Fagan, Karl Kielich, Mark Martin, Dan Patterson, Gary Schenk, Scott Sterbenz.

Executive Director Review Committee
Purpose: To carry out the Board of Directors’ overall responsibility relating to executive compensation.

Committee members: Tom Bluth (chair), Cathy DeSocio, Karl KielichKaren Jost.

Finance Committee
Purpose: To ensure the appropriate financial structure is in place to support the overall organization needs and strategic direction of the USBC and its subsidiaries.

Committee members: Tom Bluth (chair), Andrew Cain, Barb Chrisman, Cathy DeSocio, Mike Fagan, Dan Patterson. Staff liaison: Chad Murphy

Hall of Fame Committee
Purpose: Dedicated to recognizing the outstanding bowlers and bowling contributors. Individuals will be recognized in the following categories: Superior Performance, Outstanding USBC Performance, Meritorious Service, and Pioneer.

Committee members: Bob Johnson (chair), Tamoria Adams, Mike Aulby, Fran Deken, Tony Manna Jr., Gianmarc Manzione, Mark Martin, Virginia Norton, Jeff Richgels, Jan Schmidt, Bill Spigner, Lyle Zikes. Staff liaisons: Jason Thomas and Stacy Slawnikowski

Legal and Legislative Committee
Purpose: Reviews proposed legislation, discusses items submitted by staff, other committees and, if needed, may propose legislation or work with another committee to propose necessary legislation. Responsible for ensuring due process for members and athletes and to maintaining the integrity of the sport of bowling.

Committee members: Mark Martin (chair), Tony Colangelo, Jo Dimond, Kelly Kulick, Steve O’Brien, Rhino Page, Marci Williams. Staff liaison: Mike Spridco

National Policy Committee
Purpose: To maintain approved policies and when needed to make recommendations to the Board.

Committee members: Mark Martin (chair), Tony Colangelo, Jo Dimond, Kelly Kulick, Steve O’Brien, Rhino Page, Marci Williams. Staff liaison: Mike Spridco

Nominating Committee
Purpose: Prepares the slate for Board of Directors elections and selects the slate of Youth Committee members for Board approval.

Committee members: Marci Williams (chair), Cathy DeSocioKaren Jost, Karl Kielich, Kelly KulickMelissa McDaniel, Rhino Page. Staff liaisons: Chad Murphy and Judy Santarius

Strategic Planning Committee
Purpose: To create the strategic plan (vision, mission, values, etc.) for Board review and adoption; manage plan implementation and regularly report progress to Board. To monitor, evaluate and refine the USBC Strategic Plan and ensure its continuation by creating additional plan(s) using input, tools and resources. Further concerns are to measure USBC’s current standings, further identify USBC’s needs for a productive future and develop a timeline to meet those needs.

Committee members: Robert Spigner (chair), Andrew Cain, Cathy DeSocioTom Martino, Chad Murphy, Dan Patterson, Jan Schmidt. Staff liaison: Jeff Breidenbach

IBC Youth Committee
Purpose: Monitors and promotes youth programs. It makes recommendations regarding youth-specific benefits and events, youth leader programs, and elects the three Youth representatives to the USBC Board. This committee also presents recommended youth-related rule and bylaw changes to the USBC Board.

Committee members: Melissa McDaniel (chair), Blair Blumenscheid, Brent Bowers, Mike Cannington, Debra Haggerty, Mike Hillman, Kevin Russell Jr., Conner Sarich, John Sommer, Kim Stanek Sims, Frank Wilkinson, Irene Wilson. Staff liaisons: Gary Brown and Roger Noordhoek

USBC Team USA Athlete Advisory Council
Representative - Dan Patterson. Alt Representative: Stefanie Johnson. Members: Lynda Barnes, Tony Manna Jr. 



United States Bowling Congress | 621 Six Flags Drive | Arlington, Texas 76011 | 800-514-BOWL.