2017 QubicaAMF World Cup underway in Mexico

HERMOSILLO, Mexico - For a record third time, the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup is underway in Hermosillo, and the 32-lane Bol 300 now will be the temporary home of 118 competitors representing 68 countries.

The 53rd edition of the QubicaAMF World Cup officially kicked off Sunday with an on-lane opening ceremony featuring the parade of competitors, well-wishes from local and bowling dignitaries, player oath and more. Competitors and guests were treated to traditional Mexican entertainment in a custom outdoor venue.

Competition at Bol 300 begins Monday at noon Eastern with the first round of men's competition. The women's field will take the lanes for the first time at 6:30 p.m. Eastern. The field includes 66 men and 54 women. All rounds will be broadcast on BowlTV.

Official practice concluded earlier Sunday, and qualifying at the 2017 World Cup will take place over four days. This year's winners will be determined Nov. 11.

Competitors will bowl 24 games (six games each day), before the field is cut to the top 24 men and top 24 women for eight additional games. After 32 games, total pinfall will determine the eight bowlers in each division for eight games of round-robin match play.

The top four men and top four women after 40 games, including bonus pins, will advance to the knockout-style semifinals, where the No. 1 seed will face the No. 4 qualifier and No. 2 and No. 3 will meet. The winners of each match will bowl for the their respective titles.

The first World Cup was contested in Ireland in 1965, and the tournament now is considered one of the sport's most prestigious singles titles. It also is recognized as the largest event in the sport in terms of number of countries competing.

Hermosillo initially hosted the World Cup in 1994. Canada's Jack Guay rolled the first 300 in tournament history that year, and the titles went to Norway's Tore Torgersen and Anne Jacobs of South Africa. The event returned to the Sun City in 2008, with Derek Eoff of the United States and Jasmine Yeong-Nathan of Singapore as the winners.

Mexico now has hosted the event a record six times.

Defending women's champion Jenny Wegner of Sweden returns this year and is looking to become the first woman since Colombia's Clara Guerrero (2014 and 2015) to win in back-to-back years.

Aumi Guerra of the Dominican Republic is back as well and focused on becoming the first woman to win the tournament three times. She won in 2010 and 2011.

Photos from Sunday's opening ceremony: