Robert Morris men, Lindenwood women lead at ISBPA Midwest Collegiate Classic


Addison, Ill.
- The Robert Morris-Illinois men and Lindenwood women lead after Saturday's opening day of competition at the 2019 Kegel/Illinois State Bowling Proprietors Association (ISBPA) Midwest Collegiate Classic, a Tier 1 event on the 2018-2019 United States Bowling Congress Collegiate schedule.

The 2019 event is being held at Stardust Bowl and features 70 men's and 61 women's teams across two squads at the 84-lane venue. All teams bowled five traditional games Saturday and will return Sunday for 20 Baker games. Total pinfall will determine the champions in each division.

The Robert Morris-Illinois men started with a 1,115 effort to kick off their squad at Stardust Bowl and continued strong, pacing Saturday's round with a 5,352 total. Wichita State is second with 5,205, while St. Ambrose (5,186), McKendree (5,152) and Calumet (5,138) follow in the standings.

Robert Morris-Illinois' Bryan Bourget averaged more than 240 to win individual honors, finishing with a five-game total of 1,204. McKendree's Collin Smith was second with 1,178, and St. Ambrose's William Hibbard (1,152), Marian's Nicholas Graveel (1,137) and Vincennes' Tyler Perry (1,127) also earned spots on the all-tournament team.

Lindenwood cruised to the top spot as the only team to average more than 200 in the women's division on Saturday, finishing with a 5,066 total. Indiana Tech sits in second place with 4,904, while Alma (4,828), Grand View (4,747) and Pikeville (4,682) also are in the top five.

Lindenwood's Haley Cummings fired 267 in her final game to hold off Indiana Tech's Maryssa Carey for the top spot in the individual standings, finishing with a 1,112 total. Carey, who closed her block Saturday with 275, had 1,087. Pikeville's Mallory Liversedge was third with 1,067, while Alma teammates Rachel Kuczajda (1,054) and Emma Davis (1,024) rounded out the top five.

Teams on A squad will return to the lanes Sunday at 8:30 a.m. Eastern for their Baker sets, while B squad will return starting at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. All rounds will be broadcast live at