Collegiate All-America teams announced for 2019-2020 season

ARLINGTON, Texas - Webber International's Caitlyn Johnson and Tom Hankey Jr. were recognized by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association (NCBCA) as the Most Valuable Players of the 2019-2020 collegiate bowling season.

Wednesday's announcement of the NCBCA All-America teams and award winners took place live on

The International Bowling Media Association (IBMA) award winners also were announced Wednesday, with Johnson and Hankey being named the Storm Collegiate Bowlers of the Year.

Johnson, a senior, claimed the award for the second time (2017-2018) and earned her third consecutive appearance on the NCBCA All-America first team. She averaged more than 210 in nine events this season, which included six top-five individual finishes and a win at the Glenn Carlson Las Vegas Invitational, a Tier I event on the USBC Collegiate schedule.

Johnson led the nation in average differential (38.03) and paced all female competitors in Tier I average (215.9) and average differential (40.34).

Joining Johnson on the All-America first team are Mount Mercy's Ayra Aminuddin, Indiana Tech's Maryssa Carey, Pikeville's Lauren Piotrowski and St. Francis-Illinois' Abby Ragsdale, the 2018-2019 Most Valuable Player.

Aminuddin also was selected as the NCBCA Rookie of the Year.

Hankey, a sophomore, continued his momentum after winning the Intercollegiate Singles Championships in 2019 and helping the Warriors claim the Intercollegiate Team Championships.

He led the nation in average (217.98) and placed second overall in average differential (35.58), recording three top-five finishes in nine events. Two of those performances came at Tier I events (Brunswick Southern Collegiate Classic and Glenn Carlson Las Vegas Invitational).

Hankey is joined on the All-America first team by Savannah College of Art and Design-Savannah's Dylan Byars and Benjamin Martinez, Wichita State's Brandon Biondo and McKendree's Charlie Reid.

Calumet's Kevin McCune was selected as NCBCA Rookie of the Year, in addition to being part of the All-America second team.

The NCBCA Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year award went to Mount Mercy women's coach Andy Diercks. Wichita State men's coach Rick Steelsmith was named the NCBCA Gordon Vadakin Coach of the Year.

Jeff Fleck of the Raider Classic Club Championships was recognized with the Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award. The annual award recognizes an individual for outstanding service to collegiate bowling.

More than 1,030 student-athletes also earned academic Scholar Athlete status for the 2019-2020 season. To see the full list, click here.

BowlTV also recognized the award winners in four other collegiate associations prior to Wednesday's broadcast. Those organizations included the National Tenpin Coaches Association (NTCA), National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA), and Club Team Bowling Coaches Association (CTBCA).

For a full list of all award winners, click here.


First Team - Brandon Biondo, Wichita State; Dylan Byars, SCAD-Savannah; Tom Hankey Jr., Webber International; Benjamin Martinez, SCAD-Savannah; Charlie Reid, McKendree
Second Team - Cerell Cardines, Nevada-Las Vegas; Daniel Chin, Calumet; Bryan Hahlen, McKendree; Dawson Maier, Indiana Tech; Kevin McCune, Calumet
Honorable Mention - Brady Adler, Martin Methodist; Tiler Levesque, William Paterson; Ryan Lopano, Emmanuel; Brandon Mooney, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Jalen Mosley, Midland; Andrew Orf, McKendree; Jorge Rodriguez, Lincoln Memorial; Andrew Sacks, Lindenwood; Brandon Soedarmasto, St. John's; Ryan Winters, Wisconsin-Whitewater
Most Valuable Player - Tom Hankey Jr., Webber International
Rookie of the Year - Kevin McCune, Calumet
Gordon Vadakin Coach of the Year - Rick Steelsmith, Wichita State

First Team
- Ayra Aminuddin, Mount Mercy; Maryssa Carey, Indiana Tech; Caitlyn Johnson, Webber International; Lauren Piotrowski, Pikeville; Abby Ragsdale, St. Francis-Illinois
Second Team - Mattie Brandos, Robert Morris-Illinois; Megan Carpenter, Baker; Breanna Clemmer, McKendree; Kaitlyn Keith, St. Ambrose; Pamela Perez Millan, SCAD-Savannah
Honorable Mention - Taylor Bailey, McKendree; Lindsay Brown, Martin Methodist; Rebekah Commane, SCAD-Savannah; Cassidy Courey, Mount Mercy; Emma Davis, Alma; Addy Nelson, St. Ambrose; Tamera Stanton, Mount St. Mary's; Madison Stiffler, Wright State; Sydney Urben, Mount Mercy; Jessica Wolfe, Pikeville
Most Valuable Player - Caitlyn Johnson, Webber International
Rookie of the Year - Ayra Aminuddin, Mount Mercy
Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Andy Diercks, Mount Mercy

Teigen Meritorious Service Award - Jeff Fleck, Raider Classic Club Championships

Storm Collegiate Bowler of the Year
- Tom Hankey Jr., Webber International
Runners-Up - Brandon Biondo, Wichita State; Dylan Byars, SCAD-Savannah; Bryan Hahlen, McKendree; Benjamin Martinez, SCAD-Savannah
Honorable Mention - Cerell Cardines, Nevada-Las Vegas; Kevin McCune, Calumet; Brandon Mooney, Wisconsin-Whitewater

Storm Collegiate Bowler of the Year
- Caitlyn Johnson, Webber International
Runners-Up - Ayra Aminuddin, Mount Mercy; Breanna Clemmer, McKendree; Lauren Piotrowski, Pikeville; Abby Ragsdale, St. Francis-Illinois
Honorable Mention - Taylor Bailey, McKendree; Mattie Brandos, Robert Morris-Illinois; Maryssa Carey, Indiana Tech