2024 USBC Convention Concludes

LAS VEGAS – Delegates elected three board members, attended a variety of educational seminars and were on hand for a celebration of Glenn Allison during a jam-packed 2024 United States Bowling Congress Convention and Annual Meeting, which concluded Thursday at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa.

The ballot for the USBC Board election originally had four candidates slated by the USBC Nominating Committee, however, one candidate withdrew from consideration prior to the convention, leaving Dennis Hacker of Longtown, Missouri; Chrissy Lee of Tampa, Florida; and Matthew Voltz of Fargo, North Dakota, as the final candidates for the board.

With three candidates for three open positions, all three were confirmed to the board in a vote by acclamation of the delegates. The board also announced the appointments of Hacker as president and Mike Cannington of Fort Myers, Florida, as vice president. Each will serve two-year terms in those roles beginning Aug. 1, 2024.

Team USA athletes elected David Haynes of Las Vegas and Matt Russo of Ballwin, Missouri, to the USBC Board, and the Athletes Advisory Committee filled a vacant board position by appointing Shannon Pluhowsky of Dayton, Ohio. Additionally, Christopher Floyd of Lockport, Louisiana, was reelected by the IBC Youth Committee to the USBC Board.

The new board members begin their three-year terms Aug. 1, 2024.

Convention week kicked off with exhibits and a trade show Monday afternoon, followed by a welcome reception for the delegates that evening. Day 2 got off to an energetic start when keynote speaker Marvelless Mark delivered a “rock-star themed” speech that had the delegates completely engaged while banging on drumsticks.
Tuesday continued with numerous educational seminars throughout the day and concluded with a fun-filled “Game Show” night for the delegates.

Wednesday featured the conclusion of the educational seminars in the morning, and a Meet the Candidates session for USBC Board candidates to start the afternoon.

Following the Meet the Candidates session, the first session of the Annual Meeting took place. That Wednesday afternoon session was highlighted by presentations from USBC charity partners Bowlers to Veterans Link (BVL), which provides recreational and therapeutic programs and services to America’s active duty and veteran service men and women, and Bowl for the Cure®, the year-round fundraising initiative sponsored by USBC in partnership with Susan G. Komen®. The always moving glow-stick ceremony honoring breast cancer survivors concluded the Bowl for the Cure presentation.

Thursday featured the final two sessions of the Annual Meeting. The presentation of Youth and National Recognition Awards took place during the morning session, including the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award to Melia Mitskavich of DuBois, Pennsylvania, and the Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award to William Smith of Smyrna, Tennessee.

Space Coast USBC (Brevard County Florida) was awarded the Association Excellence Award. USBC board member Glenda Beckett of Palmetto Bay, Florida, who also serves on the USBC Awards and Recognition Committee, surprised the Space Coast USBC delegates as part of the ceremony.

The morning session concluded with a report from USBC Board President Melissa McDaniel, followed by a series of committee reports, including presentations from the Strategic Planning Committee and from International Bowling Campus Youth Development.

The Business Report was delivered by Deputy Executive Director Jason Overstreet and, among other things, detailed the continuation of the USBC’s Why I Certify brand awareness campaign with all new stories to share from USBC members. A refreshed landing page can be found at WhyICertify.com.

The Annual Meeting continued in the afternoon with the Executive Director’s report from Chad Murphy. The highlight of Murphy’s presentation was a tribute to USBC Hall of Famer Glenn Allison. Allison of Corona, California, set the participation record at the USBC Open Championships with his 72nd appearance in the event in February.

After a video tribute, Allison received a standing ovation from the delegates as USBC President Melissa McDaniel presented him with a commemorative gold, diamond and black onyx ring with the number “72” inscribed in it.

Following Murphy’s presentation, the meeting moved into the election and legislative segments. Board elections went as described above and there were no proposed bylaw nor rules amendments for the delegates to consider this year.

In other news from Convention week, the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee announced Seth Ketelsen of DeWitt, Iowa; Cody McCormick of Norwalk, Iowa; Sarah Nygaard of Lakeville, Minnesota; and Chris Pittard of San Antonio as its newest committee members.

The Convention concluded Thursday afternoon with a town hall meeting hosted by Murphy.

In 2025, the USBC Convention will return to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa in Las Vegas in conjunction with the USBC Women’s Championships, with the event scheduled to run from May 5-8.

Visit BOWL.com/Convention to learn more about the USBC Convention and Annual Meeting.