Champions crowned at 2015 XBowling ISC

WICHITA, Kan. - San Jose State's Michael Tang and Hastings' Emily Eckhoff captured individual titles at the 2015 XBowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships on Saturday.

Tang defeated Notre Dame-Ohio's Meeco Walker to take home the men's title, 259-174, while Eckhoff secured the women's title over Nebraska's Julia Bond at Northrock Lanes, 237-182.

CBS Sports Network will air the semifinals and finals for the women on May 4 at 7 p.m. Eastern, while the men's broadcast will be on May 11 at 7 p.m. ET.

Tang struggled to find the pocket on the right lane in his semifinal match against Morehead State's Devon Miller, but prevailed, 169-152, to advance to the title match. A ball change and an early strike on that lane in the finals bolstered his confidence as he started with seven consecutive strikes.

"It's a dream come true," said Tang, a sophomore who was named the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association Most Valuable Player for the 2014-15 season Wednesday. "I wasn't making very good shots on that lane, but made the right ball change as the lanes transitioned. When I got the first strike on the right lane in the finals, it was a real confidence booster. It's just an indescribable honor to take this back to San Jose State."

In the other men's semifinal, Walker edged by Lindenwood's Andre Fors to advance to the title match, 207-204.

Eckhoff put together a pair of 237 games on her way to the title and filled every frame along the way. The sophomore bested Webber International's Verity Crawley, 237-178, to earn her spot in the championship match.

"Since it was my first time on TV, I tried to take really deep breaths, keep my feet slow and not lose my composure," Eckhoff said. "This title really means a lot. It's only the second year that Hastings has had a bowling program, so hopefully this title will help get our name out."

Bond defeated Vanderbilt's Robyn Renslow, 222-179, in the other women's semifinal match.

For more information on the 2015 XBowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships, visit

XBowling is the title sponsor of the collegiate national championships. XBowling is a first-of-its-kind bowling app that empowers bowlers to connect and compete using their smart phone or tablet devices while bowling within XBowling enabled centers locally, across the country and around the world. The XBowling platform allows bowlers to enter challenges, view live scoring, and compete remotely while bowling.

Saturday's results
At Northrock Lanes, Wichita, Kan.



Meeco Walker, Notre Dame-Ohio def. Andre Fors, Lindenwood, 207-204
Michael Tang, San Jose State def. Devon Miller, Morehead State, 169-152

Tang def. Walker, 259-174



Julia Bond, Nebraska def. Robyn Renslow, Vanderbilt, 222-179
Emily Eckhoff, Hastings def. Verity Crawley, Webber International, 237-178

Eckhoff def. Bond, 237-182