Collegiate Ticker - Dec. 6, 2023

The 2023-2024 United States Bowling Congress Collegiate season returned from Thanksgiving break last weekend, as the Warhawk Open was contested at Stardust Lanes in Addison, Illinois.

The event featured 24 varsity men’s teams and 21 varsity women’s teams as they bowled six individual games and 16 Baker games before the top eight moved on to a match-play bracket. All rounds of match play were best-of-three Baker contests to determine the champion.

In the men’s division, Wisconsin-Whitewater qualified first with an overall total of 9,407, with Mount Mercy in second at 9,306 and Calumet third at 9,107.

Mount Mercy made their way to the finals by knocking out No. 7 Midland and Calumet, with both matches being won, 2-1. Their opponent in the finals was No. 5 Rock Valley, who took care of No. 4 Quincy (2-0) and No. 8 Davenport (2-1), after Davenport upset Wisconsin-Whitewater (2-1) in the opening round.

In the finals, Mount Mercy swept Rock Valley, 206-183 and 268-168, to collect their third victory of the season.

Mount Mercy teammates Zachary Joiner and Kai Yamada took the top two spots on the all-tournament team, with 1,368 and 1,341 totals, respectively. Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Garrett Meadows (1,336), Marian-Wisconsin’s Rory Clark (1,309) and Quincy’s Connor Meegan (1,296) also took home all-tournament team honors.

Game 6 of individuals saw Midland’s Jacob Frazier fire off a 300 game.

On the women’s side, Mount Mercy led qualifying by more than 400 pins with an 8,563 total, while Davenport was second with 8,157 and Calumet was third with 8,096.

In match play, Davenport won their first two matches over No. 7 Marian-Wisconsin (2-1) and Calumet (2-1) to move on to the finals, where they faced off against No. 4 St. Ambrose, who upset Mount Mercy in the semifinals, 2-1.

Davenport won a close Game 1, 214-209, before St. Ambrose won Game 2, 202-178, to force a Game 3 to decide the champion. Davenport won, 204-185, to claim their third win of the season.

Marian-Wisconsin’s Jazmin Koeberl led the women’s field with a 1,208 total, with Mount Mercy’s Megan Kolberg (1,187), William Woods’ Hailey Triske (1,178), Davenport’s Kasey Eaton (1,169) and St. Francis-Illinois’ Kaitlyn Yearsich (1,153) collecting all-tournament team honors.

In other collegiate action:

- At the American Heartland Bowling Association (AHBA) – Event 4 in Fort Wayne, Indiana, the Indiana Tech men and Trine women collected wins.

- At the Big 10 Conference Championship in Anderson, Indiana, the Ohio State men and women each won their bracket.

- At the Bulldog Invitational in Wilson, North Carolina, the North Carolina men went through the match-play bracket and collected a win.

- At the Crossroad League – Events 1 and 2 in Fort Wayne, Indiana, the Marian-Indiana men and Spring Arbor women swept both events.

- At the Mustang Invitational in Sioux City, Iowa, the Hastings men and women swept the event, with the men winning by one pin.

- At the Northeast Classic in Lodi, New Jersey, the William Paterson men and Molloy women collected match-play victories.

- At the West Coast Collegiate Team Championships – Events 1 and 2 in Fresno, California, the Grand Canyon men led both days to leave with two wins.

- At the Northeast Conference – Event 2 in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, the Duquesne women went undefeated in match play to lead the event.

For the full schedule of collegiate events, results and more, visit and