Dexter USBC All-American Team has familiar names

ARLINGTON, Texas – For the second consecutive season, Sierra Kanemoto of Riverside, Ohio, and Derick Holmes of Wichita, Kan., have been selected to the Dexter/USBC High School All-American Team.

Ten bowlers, five boys and five girls, were selected for the 2013-2014 Dexter/USBC High School All-American Team. Kanemoto and Holmes are just the sixth and seventh bowlers to make the team in back-to-back seasons, and each also was the top-ranked student in their graduating class.

“Dexter is proud to recognize these 10 bowlers who not only have been successful on the lanes, but also in the classroom and in their communities,” said Bud Clapsaddle, Vice President of Dexter Bowling.

This year’s selections mark the ninth year Dexter has named a high school All-American team. Student-athletes, who are nominated by their coach or athletic director, must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade-point average, based on a 4.0 scale, and had to provide a letter of recommendation and a 500-word essay.

Each student-athlete will receive a $1,000 scholarship for being named to the team and will be recognized at this year’s Junior Gold Championships in Buffalo, N.Y., in July.

“Dexter Bowling has been a great supporter of high school bowling for many years, and selection to the Dexter/USBC All-American Team is one of the top honors a high school bowler can receive,” said Chad Murphy, USBC Interim Executive Director and the International Bowling Campus Managing Director of Youth Development.

The five female student-athletes named to the team:

HaleyCarrollHaley Carroll (Williamsville, N.Y.): The junior helped Williamsville South to second place at the state championships and helped the Section 6 all-star team to the state title in 2013. She is a member of the National Honor Society and also plays flute in the band. A member of the Girl Scouts since 2003, she received the Bronze Award.

KendallDeJongKendall De Jong (Chesapeake, Va.): Her team took second at the Virginia State High School Bowling All-Star Championships, and she was the only girl selected to the all-tournament team. A National Honor Society member, she also was an all-district chorus selection the last two years and won several awards in DECA competitions.

SierraKanemotoSierra Kanemoto (Dayton, Ohio): A four-year member of the bowling team, she helped Stebbins High School to three conference titles. She won the Ohio High School Singles Championships in 2012 and took third in 2013. She is a member of the marching and symphonic bands and served on the student senate.

JessicaMellottJessica Mellott (Lauderhill, Fla.): Mellott, who has signed to bowl at Alabama-Birmingham, was captain her last two seasons at Coral Springs Charter School and earned All-Broward Bowling Team honors. She took second at the 2013 Florida High School state tournament. She is a member of the National Honor Society.

KrystinaNealonKrystina Nealon (Coral Springs, Fla.): The junior was responsible for the formation of both the boys and girls teams at Coral Glades High School this season, led the girls team to its first state tournament and won the state individual title. She is a member of the National Honor Society, the Drama Club and is on the varsity tennis team.

The five male student-athletes named to the team:

MichaelDertzMichael Dertz (Tinley Park, Ill.): He helped the Andrew High School bowling team to a state title in 2012 and a state runner-up finish in 2014, and was 17th in the individual competition in 2014. A National Honor Society member, he finished fourth in the Skills USA Illinois State Competition for Graphic Arts in 2014.

DerickHolmesDerick Holmes (Wichita, Kan.): Holmes, the 2014 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award recipient, won the Kansas State High School Activities Association individual state title as a junior and is a three-time KSHSAA all-state member. He received the Wichita State University Gore Scholarship and has signed to bowl with the Shockers this fall.

JoeyMillerJoey Miller (Loves Park, Ill.): Miller was captain of the Harlem High School bowling team that finished fourth at the Illinois High School Association state tournament. The 2013 Illinois USBC Star of Tomorrow, Miller received the President’s Volunteer Service Award in March 2014. He will attend Indiana Institute of Technology this fall.

PaulSchinkPaul Brendan Schink (Dravosburg, Pa.): The only junior selected to the boys team, he helped start the Wilson Christian Academy bowling team his sophomore year. He won the Pennsylvania Boys State Individual title in 2013 and was 19th this past season. He has been class vice president the last two years and is a National Honor Society member.

AlexSommerAlex Sommer (Rockford, Ill.): He helped Guilford High School capture the Illinois High School Association state team title in 2010 and 2014 and was a three-time all-conference selection. He also was a member of the varsity tennis team. The top-ranked student in his class, he was a National Honor Society member and editor of the school newspaper.

Go to to learn more about the Dexter/USBC All-American Team and high school bowling.

With athlete, year, high school and hometown:
Haley Carroll, Junior, Williamsville South High School, Williamsville, N.Y.
Kendall De Jong, Senior, Grassfield High School, Chesapeake, Va.
Sierra Kanemoto, Senior, Walter E. Stebbins High School, Dayton, Ohio
Jessica Mellott, Senior, Coral Springs Charter School, Lauderhill, Fla.
Krystina Nealon, Junior, Coral Glades High School, Coral Springs, Fla.
Michael Dertz, Senior, Victor J. Andrew High School, Tinley Park, Ill.
Derick Holmes, Senior, Wichita Southeast High School, Wichita, Kan.
Joey Miller, Senior, Harlem High School, Loves Park, Ill.
Paul Brendan Schink, Junior, Wilson Christian Academy, Dravosburg, Pa.
Alex Sommer, Senior, Guilford High School, Rockford, Ill.