Florida high school bowler to receive Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award

ARLINGTON, Texas – Trace Nuss of Tampa, Florida, has been selected as the 2019 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award winner by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee.

A senior at Jesuit High School, Nuss receives a $6,000 scholarship as this year’s award winner.

“I feel privileged and humbled to be honored as this year’s recipient,” Nuss said. “I am thankful to the sport of bowling and the amazing opportunities it has afforded me. While the path I've chosen within the sport may be slightly different than those whose primary focus is on their own lanes, I measure my successes by the exuberance shown by the athletes whom I coach and the positive impact the sport of bowling brings into their lives and the lives of their families.”

The annual award recognizes star qualities in a United States Bowling Congress Youth member, including distinguished bowling performances on the local, state and national levels, academic achievement and community involvement. Applicants must be a male high school senior or college student.

Nuss is a National Merit Semifinalist, a Quest Bridge National Prep Scholar, and has taken 12 Advanced Placement courses at Jesuit. He is a member of the National Honor Society, Key Club and Latin Club, and also serves on the Tampa Mayor’s Youth Corps.

A four-year member of the bowling team, he helped Jesuit to the state finals his freshman and sophomore years. He also bowls in the Tampa Youth Travel League and is a USBC Level I certified coach.

Nuss, the 2018 Annual Zeb Scholarship recipient, became involved with Super Stars Tampa, a league of 92 bowlers with developmental and cognitive disabilities, four years ago. He also began working with Special Olympics Hillsborough County as a certified student coach for their flag football and basketball teams, leading them to area, district and state championships the last three years.

He said his most impactful contribution came earlier this year. Nuss was selected as a Lightning Community Hero through the Lightning Foundation, part of the National Hockey League Tampa Bay Lightning’s Community Heroes of Tomorrow Program, and was able to give the Super Stars and Special Olympics a $25,000 grant. Nuss said the grant will be used to promote the sport of bowling and increase bowling opportunities for Special Olympic athletes throughout the Tampa Bay region.

He also has volunteered with Feeding America at his local food pantry and in community service projects through Key Club and Kiwanis supporting local charities.

Nuss will receive the Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow Award during the 2019 USBC Convention and Annual Meeting, which will take place April 29-May 2 at The Orleans in Las Vegas.

BowlTV.com will have live coverage of the awards presentations that will take place during the USBC Annual Meeting.

Visit BOWL.com/ScholarshipsAwards for more information on scholarship opportunities for youth bowlers.

Year, winner, hometown

1980 Chris Whitty, Simonton, Texas
1981 Drew Barthle, Tampa, Fla.
1982 Ricky Corona, Oakland, Calif.
1983 Dan Nadeau, Las Vegas
1984 Robert Beck, Houston
1985 Justin Hromek, Andover, Kan.
1986 Pat Healey, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Mark Fisser, Buena Park, Calif.
1988 Bradley Joinetz, San Antonio, Texas
1989 Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan.
1990 Jason McCarty, Fultondale, Ala.
1991 Chris Williams, Anchorage, Alaska
1992 Robert Smith, Moorpark, Calif.
1993 Vince Biondo, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
1994 Michael Mullin, New City, N.Y.
1995 John Miller, Wichita, Kan.
1996 David Eisenberg, Kendall Park, N.J.
1997 Todd Filter, Cedarburg, Wis.
1998 James (Eddie) Kirtley, Bowling Green, Ky.
1999 Andrew Cain, Glendale, Ariz.
2000 Scott Norton, Cypress, Calif.
2001 Sean Rash, Anchorage, Alaska
2002 Nathan Bohr, Austin, Texas
2003 Marc D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2004 Patrick Haggerty, Weimar, Calif.
2005 Brandon Temple, Tempe, Ariz.
2006 Eric Helmrich, Saint Leonard, Md.
2007 Jonathan Buckert, Rochester, N.Y.
2008 Kyle Kahlden, Houston
2009 Chris Bardol, Brockport, N.Y.
2010 Andrew Koff, Miami, Fla.
2011 Brent Bowers, Mulvane, Kan.
2012 Kyle Anderson, Lockport, Ill.
2013 Joey Kopera, Orland Park, Ill.
2014 Derick Holmes, Wichita, Kan.
2015 Anthony Sidari, Hazleton, Pa.
2016 Jack Cook, Denville, N.J.
2017 Carson Opela, Rio Rancho, N.M.
2018 Alex Olendorff, St. Louis, Mo.
2019 Trace Nuss of Tampa, Fla.