Illinois high school senior selected as Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow

ARLINGTON, Texas – Mabel Cummins of Elburn, Illinois, a senior at Kaneland High School, has been selected as the 2019 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee.

The prestigious award recognizes the star qualities of a female high school senior or college student, including accomplishments on the lanes, academic achievement and community service. The award winner receives a $6,000 scholarship.

Past recipients include, among others, USBC Hall of Fame members Betty Kuczynski, the award’s first winner in 1961, Joy Abel, Judy Soutar, Mildred Ignizio, Donna Adamek, Tish Johnson and Lynda (Norry) Barnes.

“It's an incredible honor,” Cummins said. “I am genuinely humbled to be associated with the remarkable women who have received this award in the past. Some truly outstanding individuals have previously been selected for this title including Josie Barnes, Diandra Asbaty and Missy Parkin, just to name a few, and I am proud to say they were my heroes as a child and my role models as a young adult. They are incredibly talented athletes and respected leaders and they have impacted the sport in such a positive and profound way that I feel totally overwhelmed at the thought of living up to their accomplishments.”

Cummins recently competed for Junior Team USA at the inaugural World Bowling Junior Championships in France. She teamed with Kamerin Peters to take the gold medal in doubles and won three matches in the Masters competition of the event to earn bronze.

She made her first appearance on Junior Team USA in 2018 and was a member of the gold-medal winning team at the World Bowling Youth Championships. As a member of U15 Junior Team USA in 2017, she won five gold medals and a silver medal at the Tournament of the Americas.

She started 2019 with a runner-up finish at the U.S. Amateur Championships, beating Julia Bond in the semifinal before falling to Breanna Clemmer in the title match.

Cummins won the U15 girls title at the 2016 Junior Gold Championships.

Off the lanes, she is a member of the Elite Youth Tour Board and Illinois State USBC Youth Leaders. She served as tournament coordinator for the 2016 Strike for Vets Chicago, raising nearly $10K for Fisher House, a veterans support facility. She was selected as the USBC Youth Ambassador of the Year in 2017.

With a 4.12 grade-point average, she is in the top 10 of her class at Kaneland High School. She is a National Honor Society member and Illinois State Scholar. She has taken advanced courses in biology, chemistry, physics, calculus, statistics, human geography, and language and composition.

She plans to attend Vanderbilt University, where she will compete on the women’s bowling team as she works toward a degree in pathology.

“I intend to become a forensic pathologist, but not through the traditional path,” Cummins said. “I will major in biomedical engineering, then attend medical school, complete a 4-5 year clinical residency, and eventually receive a pathology certification.”

Cummins will receive the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award at the 2019 USBC Convention, which will take place April 29-May 2 at The Orleans in Las Vegas. will have live coverage of the award presentation.

Visit for more information on scholarship opportunities for youth bowlers.

Year, winner, hometown

1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, N.Y.
1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.
1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, N.H.
1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, N.Y.
1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, N.J.
1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, N.Y.
1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Clair Shores, Mich.
1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, S.D.
2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y.
2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
2010 Heather D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, N.Y.
2014 Melanie Crawford, Plano, Texas
2015 Emma Kuhn, Texas City, Texas
2016 Gazmine Mason, Cranston, R.I.
2017 Natalie Koprowitz, Girard, Ill.
2018 Crystal Singh, Coral Springs, Fla.
2019 Mabel Cummins, Elburn, Ill.