Collegiate Ticker for Jan. 4

Robert Morris sweeps at Roto Grip Keystone Quaker Classic
ALLENTOWN, Pa. - Robert Morris-Illinois captured both the men's and women's titles at the Roto Grip Keystone Quaker Classic held Dec. 27-28 at Playdrome Rose Bowl.

In the 41-team men's field of the Tier I tournament, Robert Morris posted a 9,681 pinfall total to top Saginaw Valley State (9,214). Morehead State was third at 9,209 followed by St. John's (9,174) and William Paterson (8,996).

Robert Morris freshman Marshall Kent earned his first individual title with a 1,206 pinfall total over five games to top Briarcliffe's Jack Castellano (1,182). Morehead State's Mike Conn (1,143) was third, while Robert Morris' Jacob Kent was fourth at 1,127 and Chris Via (1,126) of Notre Dame College was fifth.

Led by sophomore Caitlin Hoffman and senior Elisa Rivera, who finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the individual standings, Robert Morris topped the 17-team women's field with a 9,026 pinfall total. Pikeville was second at 8,625 while Davenport was third at 8,396. Marian (8,335) and Briarcliffe (8,311) rounded out the top five.

Marian's Kayla Rhoades took the individual title with a 1,118 total. Blair Blumenscheid of Ohio State was second at 1,106 with Davenport's Reba Wilke (1,091) finishing third.

Results: Men's Team | Men's Individual | Women's Team | Women's Individual

Nittany Lion Kegler Classic
Both the Robert Morris-Illinois men's team and the  Pikeville women's team continued strong starts this season by taking their respective divisions at the Nittany Lion Kegler Classic held Dec. 29-30 at AMF Parkway Bowling Lanes.

To win its fifth tournament title of the season, Robert Morris had a 9,389 pinfall total in the 40-team men's division of the Tier I event. Rounding out the top five were Saginaw Valley State (9,210), Morehead State (9,136), Wright State (9,100) and Notre Dame College (8,868).

Rochester Tech's Steven Walton took individual honors with a 1,123 pinfall total for five games. Jay Foote of Wright State was second at 1,113 followed by Morehead State's Steven Zimmer (1,099), Marshall Kent (1,083) of Robert Morris and Stony Brook's Joshua Graham (1,083).

Pikeville was paced by senior Kim Yioulos, who won the individual title, and sophomore Christina Halen, who was third, in winning the 16-team women's field. Pikeville, which now has two victories and two second-place finishes in its last four tournaments, posted an 8,480 pinfall total for the victory. Newman was second at 8,171, followed by Wright State (8,139), Marian (8,064) and Robert Morris-Illinois (8,010).

Results: Men's Team | Men's Individual | Women's Team | Women's Individual