Schmidt, Tan named collegiate MVPs

COLUMBUS, Ga. - Purdue senior TJ Schmidt and Wichita State sophomore Jazreel Tan were named Most Valuable Players for the 2010-11 college bowling season by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association.

Schmidt and Tan were honored with the rest of the All-Americans at the Night of Champions banquet held Wednesday in conjunction with the 2011 United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Team Championships, which open Thursday AMF Peach Lanes.

Schmidt averaged 215.33 this season and won individual titles at the Backhaul Direct Hoosier Classic, where he was the only player to shoot 300, the Brickyard Classic and the Team Match Games.

He is joined as a first team All-American by Greg Geering of Fresno State, Marcus Berndt of Wichita State, Marcelo Suartz of Webber International and Toledo's Charles Easton.

"It's an amazing feeling," Schmidt said. "It just shows how the hard work and dedication is starting to payoff."

A first-team All-American last season, Tan also is a member of Singapore's national team. She won three individual titles year, including the Hoosier Classic, and averaged 204.79.

Tan is joined on the women's first team by Amanda Green of Lindenwood, Jenn Boisselle of Central Florida, Kim Yioulos of Pikeville and Brandi Branka of McKendree.

"I missed the first part of the season to compete in the Asian Games and a lot of the credit goes to my team for helping me settle in," Tan said. "It's always nice to be recognized, and I'm hopeful we will have a good week ahead."

Easton and Diana Zavjalova of Webber International were named Rookie of the Year in their respective divisions. Morehead State's Bobby Brown and Midland's J.J. Mastny were named the Kerm Helmer Coaches of the Year.

Also on Wednesday, the Bowling Writers Association of America announced its players of the year. Schmidt and Tan received those honors as well.


First Team

TJ Schmidt, Purdue; Greg Geering, Fresno State; Marcus Berndt, Wichita State; Marcelo Suartz, Webber International; Charles Easton, Toledo
Second Team
Chris Bardol, Robert Morris-Illinois; Erik Gulbrandson, Wichita State; RJ Klann, Lindenwood; Jack Castellano, Briarcliffe; Sammy Krucek, Calumet
Honorable Mention
Austin Boulds, Vincennes; Geoffrey Young, Wichita State; Frank Testa, Notre Dame-Ohio; Michael Fujita, UC-Davis; Steven Zimmer, Morehead State

Most Valuable Player - TJ Schmidt, Purdue
Rookie of the Year - Charles Easton, Toledo
Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Bobby Brown, Morehead State

First Team

Jazreel Tan, Wichita State; Amanda Green, Lindenwood; Jenn Boisselle, Central Florida; Kim Yioulos, Pikeville; Brandi Branka, McKendree
Second Team
Kristie Petravich, Central Florida; Jessica Baker, Wichita State; Heather D'Errico, Robert Morris-Illinois; Maria Jose Rodriguez, Maryland Eastern Shore; Gina Capone, Briarcliffe
Honorable Mention
Diana Zavjalova, Webber International; Jessica Santiago, Webber International; Jenny Petzoldt, Lindenwood; Kristina Frahm, Maryland Eastern Shore; Samantha Kelly, Robert Morris-Illinois

Most Valuable Player - Jazreel Tan, Wichita State
Rookie of the Year - Diana Zavjalova, Webber International    
Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - J.J. Mastny, Midland

Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award - Mark Jones, AHIBC founder/director


Male - TJ Schmidt, Purdue
Female - Jazreel Tan, Wichita State

Male Runners-up
Chris Bardol, Robert Morris-Illinois
Marcus Berndt, Wichita State
Charles Easton, Toledo
Greg Geering, Fresno State
Marcelo Suartz, Webber International

Male Honorable Mention
Jack Castellano, Briarcliffe
Erik Gulbrandson, Wichita State

Female Runners-up
Jenn Boisselle, Central Florida
Amanda Greene, Lindenwood
Maria Jose Rodriguez, Maryland Eastern Shore
Kim Yioulos, Pikeville

Female Honorable Mention
Brandi Branka, McKendree
Heather D'Errico, Robert Morris-Illinois
Kristie Petravich, Central Florida