Collegiate national titles to be decided

MORE:  Championships program book

The nation's top college teams and individuals will battle for national championships when the United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Team Championships and the USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships kick off April 17 at Sun Valley Lanes in Lincoln, Neb.

2011 ITC UMES celebrationThe championships are the pinnacle events of the college bowling season, which began in September. Defending men's team champion Fresno State and women's champion Maryland Eastern Shore return to defend their titles.

The defending champs are among the 16 men's and 16 women's teams that advanced to the collegiate nationals. In the singles competition, the field is made up of 24 men and 16 women.

All qualifying and match play rounds of both events will be shown live on's BowlTV, while the champions will be crowned on national television. The semifinals and finals of the Intercollegiate Singles Championships and the finals of the Intercollegiate Team Championships will be shown on CBS Sports Network in four one-hour shows every Friday at 10 p.m. Eastern starting May 4.

Competition gets underway April 17 with qualifying and match play for the Intercollegiate Singles Championships. The final four men and final four women will be determined for the semifinals, which will take place April 21.

The singles participants will bowl six games of qualifying to determine seeding for the single-elimination match-play bracket, which consists of three-game, total-pinfall matches.

The Intercollegiate Team Championships gets underway April 19 with qualifying and match play. After a final full day of match play on April 20, the final two men's teams and final two women's teams will advance to the televised finals, also on April 21.

The teams will bowl 24 games of Baker qualifying to determine seeding for the double-elimination Baker match-play bracket. In match play, teams will bowl best-of-seven matches.

For more information on the USBC Intercollegiate Team Championships, visit For information on the USBC Intercollegiate Singles Championships, visit

At Sun Valley Lanes, Lincoln, Neb., April 19-21


Calumet, Whiting, Ind.; Fresno State, Fresno, Calif.; Kansas, Lawrence, Kan.; Lindenwood, St. Charles, Mo.; Midland, Fremont, Neb.; Morehead State, Morehead, Ky.; Notre Dame-Ohio, South Euclid, Ohio; Robert Morris-Illinois, Chicago; Rochester Tech, Rochester, N.Y.; St. Ambrose, Davenport, Iowa; Toledo, Toledo, Ohio; Vincennes, Vincennes, Ind.; Webber International, Babson Park, Fla.; Wichita State, Wichita, Kan.; William Paterson, Wayne, N.J.; Wright State, Dayton, Ohio

Calumet, Whiting, Ind.; Florida State, Tallahassee, Fla.; Kutztown, Kutztown, Pa.; Lindenwood, St. Charles, Mo.; Maryland Eastern Shore, Princess Anne, Md.; McKendree, Lebanon, Ill.; Midland, Fremont, Neb.; Newman, Wichita, Kan.; Pikeville, Pikeville, Ky.; Robert Morris-Illinois, Chicago; Stephen F. Austin, Nacogdoches, Texas; Webber International, Babson Park, Fla.; West Texas A&M, Canyon, Texas; Wichita State, Wichita, Kan.; William Penn, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Wright State, Dayton, Ohio

At Sun Valley Lanes, Lincoln, Neb., April 17 and 21


Cory Barber, Rochester Tech; Mike Conn, Morehead State; Neil Cooley, Minnesota State; Kevin Donovan, Corning Community College; Charles Easton, Toledo; Anthony Fiorenzo, Calumet; Benjamin Hainsey, Florida State; Lucas Hohnstein, Pikeville; Adam Johnson, McKendree; Aaron Johnston, West Texas A&M; Matthew Krueger, Viterbo; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State; Aaron Morgan, Toledo; Blake Paris, Lindenwood; Chris Pierson, Robert Morris-Illinois; Cody Shoemaker, Saginaw Valley State; Daniel Spink, Lindenwood; Chris Spoo, Florida Atlantic; Joe Steiner, Midland; Marcelo Suartz, Webber International; Kevin Tatrow, Wichita State; Cruise Webster, Webber International; Geoffrey Young, Wichita State

Elise Bolton, Nebraska; Brooke Bower, Kutztown; Brandi Branka, McKendree; Amanda Dodd, Calumet; Georgia Drewes, Newman; Chelsea Essenmacher, Adrian; Tracy Fakes, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Brittany Hart, Long Island; Jordeen Koizumi, Arizona State; Sarah Lokker, Arkansas State; Nicole Parkhurst, Stephen F. Austin; Kaitlin Quinn, Bellarmine; Rachel Schalow, Viterbo; Jazreel Tan, Wichita State; Amelia Tonyes, St. Francis-N.Y.; Katelyn Zwiefelhofer, Wisconsin-Whitewater