Ron Mohr leads qualifying at 2022 Super Senior Classic


- Ron Mohr of Las Vegas moved to the top of the standings Friday at the 2022 Super Senior Classic to lead 44 advancers to the Cashers' Round on Saturday at the Sam's Town Bowling Center.

Mohr, the 2017 Super Senior Classic champion, jumped from ninth place to first after rolling games of 259, 247, 237, 218, 265 and 180 for a 1,406 total to bring his 12-game qualifying score to 2,781, a 231.75 average.

United States Bowling Congress Hall of Famer Lennie Boresch of Kenosha, Wisconsin, finished qualifying in second with 2,766 and was followed by Mitch Vernon of Olympia, Washington (2,730), Eric Forkel of Henderson, Nevada (2,727), and opening-round leader Tom Adcock of Forsyth, Illinois (2,697).

USBC and Professional Bowlers Association Hall of Famer Amleto Monacelli of Venezuela fired the top block of the day - 1,456 - to go from 97th place to 10th with a 2,646 total. Monacelli is the defending champion at the Super Senior Classic.

The final advancer is Canada's Michael Snow, who finished in 44th place with a 2,527 total, a 210.58 average.

All competitors in the 173-player field bowled two six-game blocks to determine the advancers, based on total pinfall. Each squad bowled one block on the fresh 40-foot oil pattern and one round on the burn in qualifying.

Advancers will return to Sam's Town on Saturday for a six-game Cashers' Round, and total pinfall for 18 games will determine the 12 players advancing to the match-play portion of the Super Senior Classic.

The Cashers' Round starts at noon Eastern, and all rounds of competition at the 2022 Super Senior Classic are being broadcast live at

The match-play finalists will be split into two groups for six games of round-robin competition, with the top finisher in each group earning an automatic spot in Sunday's stepladder based on 24-game pinfall totals, including 30 bonus pins for each win.

The second, third and fourth seeds from each group will face off in simultaneous group stepladders starting Sunday at noon Eastern, before the main four-player stepladder for the title and $7,500 top prize begins at 2 p.m. Eastern.

The winners of each group stepladder will claim the No. 3 and No. 4 spots in the finals, with seeding being determined based on their average for the event.