National Recognition Awards

Each year USBC recognizes outstanding bowling leaders through three national awards. USBC also recognizes an association each year for outstanding service.

National Recognition Awards applications are all completed online, click HERE to nominate a deserving candidate for one of the awards. Users will need to create an account in the platform if they have not used it previously.

For help with the online process, please click here for the Help Guide:

The USBC Helen Baker Award for Outstanding Association Service is named in honor of the fifth president of the Women's International Bowling Congress. It annually recognizes an outstanding bowling leader who has made invaluable contributions to the local and state associations as an innovator, creator and mentor of adult programs.

Previous winners
2024 – Charla Wilke, Fort Dodge, Iowa
2023 – Dalia Keyes, Valrico, Fla.
2022 – Becky Jones, Lubbock, Texas
2021 – Polly Maples, Knoxville, Tenn.
2020 – Dave Bowers, Cayce, S.C.
2019 – Kay Smith, Bryan, Texas
2018 – Betty Kingsley, Rochester, N.Y.
2017 – Ruth Heath-Trott, Montpelier, Ohio
2016 – Rhonda Swaim, Harvest, Ala.
2015 – Joe Spain Jr., Roswell, Ga.
2014 – Nancy Walczyk, Boston, N.Y.
2013 – Madeline Dotta, Washington, Ill.
2012 – Sue Hunter, Alamo, Texas
2011 – Ellen Goss, Garland, Texas
2010 – Harry Stewart, Coon Rapids, Minn.
2009 – Jean Tondola-Smith, Massillon, Ohio
2008 – Charlotte Smith, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
2007 – Sheri Cook, Farmington, N.M.
2006 – Matt Lang, St. Paul, Minn.

The USBC Joyce Deitch Unity Award is named in honor of the seventh president of the Women's International Bowling Congress. It recognizes organizations and individuals who have made important contributions to the overall sport of bowling by being motivators, visionaries, leaders and/or innovators.

Previous winners
2024 – Dave Bryant, Richland, Wash.
2023 – Rebecca Cole, Gresham, Ore.
2022 – Jim O'Reilly, Wabasha, Minn.
2021 – No award
2020 – Teri Haugh, Faribault, Minn.
2019 – Patty Patterson, El Paso, Texas
2018 – Lowell Lovgren, Kelso, Wash.
2017 – No award
2016 – Jamie Brooks, Fort Worth, Texas
2015 – Dick Atkinson, Harker Heights, Texas
2014 – Bill Chrisman, Pleasant View, Utah
2013 – Michael Nyitray, Parkland, Fla.
2012 – Donna Conners, Houston
2011 – David Patrick, Cibolo, Texas
2010 – Tina Martin, Novato, Calif.
2009 – Tom Clark, Muskego, Wis.
2008 – Don Lowry, Kokomo, Ind.
2007 – Dan Ottman, Detroit

The USBC Proprietor of the Year Award annually recognizes a bowling center proprietor for his/her outstanding support of USBC local, state and/or national association programs.

Previous winner
2024 – Rich Eighme, Waterloo, Iowa
2023 – Brent Prentice, Eagan, Minn.
2022 – John Burns, Odessa, Texas
2021 – John Wing, Mundelein, Ill.
2020 – JoAnn West, New Braunfels, Texas
2019 – Joseph Poelking, Dayton, Ohio
2018 – Butch Cardoza and Natalie Cardoza Clark, Cottage Grove, Ore.
2017 – Mike Nelson, Houston
2016 – Jon Tang and Tom Burke, Beaverton, Ore.
2015 – Sue Pinski, Perryburg, Ohio
2014 – Randy Shank, Sterling Heights, Mich.
2013 – Vicki Bowman, Gladstone, Mo.
2012 – No award
2011 – James Doty, Noblesville, Ind.
2010 – Jamie Brooks, Wylie, Texas
2009 – Charles Linstler, Laguna Beach, Calif.
2008 – Roger Wiemer, Springfield, Mo.
2007 – Danny Butcher, Colorado Springs, Colo.
2006 – Jim Gordin, Modesto, Calif.

USBC Association Excellence Award
The USBC Association Excellence Award was introduced in 2019 as a way to recognize associations who go above and beyond with their service to the sport and their members.

Previous winner
2024 – Space Coast USBC
2023 – North Texas USBC
2022 – Indiana State USBC
2021 – Fort Collins USBC, Fort Collins, Colo.
2020 – Sioux Falls Regional USBC, Sioux Falls, S.D.
2019 – Skagit Valley USBC, Burlington, Wash.