USBC Committees


Athletes Advisory Council (AAC)

Purpose: Serves as a source of opinion and advice to the board regarding both current and contemplated policies of USBC.

Council members: Josie Barnes, Sydney BrummettBrittni LaGeorgeNick Pate, Kristopher Prather. Staff liaison: Mike Spridco

Audit Committee

Purpose: To ensure all financial matters of the organization are conducted legally, ethically, and in accordance with proper accounting rules. This committee is independent of the Finance Committee and will give the Board assurance that audited financial statements are accurate and comprehensive and reduce any possible conflicts of interest between outside auditors and paid staff of USBC.

Committee members: Marci Williams (chair), Sydney BrummettJay Daryman, Dennis Hacker, Chrissie Kent, Nick Pate. Staff liaison: Eric Kammlah

Awards and Recognition Committee
Purpose: The purpose of the Awards and Recognition Committee is to provide oversight and direction for the USBC Membership Achievement Awards program and to select and recognize outstanding service in awarding the following USBC National Recognition Awards: Proprietor of the Year, Joyce Deitch Unity Award; Helen Baker Outstanding Association Service.

Committee members: Dennis Hacker (chair), Glenda Beckett, Brandon BowmanCornell Jackson, Ron Mohr, Kristopher Prather. Staff liaison: Mike Larsen

Diversity and Inclusion Committee
Purpose: USBC leadership and staff is committed to improving existing and forging new relationships to remove any perceived barriers to the sport, and to bring diversity to all phases of the organization.

Committee members: Adam Mitchell (chair), Josie Barnes, Sydney Brummett, Dennis Hacker, Cornell Jackson, Nancy Schenk. Staff Liaison: Roger Noordhoek

Equipment Specifications Committee
Purpose: In concert with the USBC Strategic Planning Committee, this committee shall proactively maintain and protect the integrity of the sport. The committee shall make final decisions regarding all equipment on which USBC approval is requested, and shall set policies and procedures regarding equipment, specifications and all activities associated with regulating bowling center certificates.

Committee members: Karl Kielich (chair), Josie Barnes, Andrew Cain, Anthony ColangeloDennis Hacker, Mark Van Meter. Staff liaison: Tom Frenzel

Executive Advisory Committee
Purpose: To serve as an advisory resource to executive leadership and the president. An advisory committee, it has no authority to act or make decisions on behalf of the board.

Committee members: Josie Barnes, Sydney Brummett, Cathy DeSocio, Karl Kielich, Dennis HackerMelissa McDaniel, Frank Wilkinson.

Executive Director and Board Evaluation Committee
Purpose: To carry out the Board of Directors’ overall responsibility relating to executive compensation.

Committee members: Mike Cannington (chair), Anthony Colangelo, Christopher FloydDennis Hacker, Brittni LaGeorgeMark Van Meter.

Finance Committee
Purpose: To ensure the appropriate financial structure is in place to support the overall organization needs and strategic direction of the USBC and its subsidiaries.

Committee members: Cathy DeSocio (chair), Brandon BowmanSydney Brummett, Bo GoergenDennis Hacker, Ron Mohr, Nancy Schenk. Staff liaison: Eric Kammlah

Hall of Fame Committee
Purpose: Dedicated to recognizing the outstanding bowlers and bowling contributors. Individuals will be recognized in the following categories: Superior Performance, Outstanding USBC Performance, Meritorious Service and Pioneer.

Committee members: Johnny Campos (chair), Anthony Colangelo, Fran Deken, Jo Dimond, Dave Husted, Karl Kielich, Kelly Kulick, Dana Miller-Mackie, Ron Mohr, Lucy Sandelin, Bill Spigner, Marci Williams, Lyle Zikes. Staff liaison: Dave Schroeder

Legal Committee
Purpose: Responsible for ensuring due process for members and athletes and to maintaining the integrity of the sport of bowling.

Committee members: Jay Daryman (chair), Josie Barnes, Glenda Beckett, Anthony Colangelo, Christopher FloydBrittni LaGeorge. Staff liaison: Mike Spridco

Legislative Committee
Purpose: Reviews proposed legislation, discusses items submitted by staff, other committees and, if needed, may propose legislation or work with another committee to propose necessary legislation.

Committee members: Jay Daryman (chair), Josie Barnes, Glenda Beckett, Anthony ColangeloChristopher FloydBrittni LaGeorge, Chrissy LeeMark Van Meter. Staff liaison: Mike Spridco

Nominating Committee
Purpose: Prepares the slate for Board of Directors elections and selects the slate of Youth Committee members for Board approval.

Committee members: Frank Wilkinson (chair), Mike CanningtonAnthony ColangeloChrissie Kent, Ron MohrMark Van Meter. Staff liaison: Tennelle Milligan

Scholarship Management Account & Reporting for Tenpins (SMART) Committee
Purpose: Manages and implements a youth bowling scholarships program (the "SMART Program"), including by providing effective and convenient access, safekeeping and prudent management of all youth bowler scholarship funds collected and administered through the SMART Program (the "SMART Funds") until distributed to youth bowlers in compliance with all required regulations.

Committee members: Frank Wilkinson (chair), Josie Barnes, Anthony Colangelo, Jay Daryman, Kevin KraussMark Van Meter. Staff liaison: Jason Overstreet

Strategic Planning Committee
Purpose: To create the strategic plan (vision, mission, values, etc.) for Board review and adoption; manage plan implementation and regularly report progress to Board. To monitor, evaluate and refine the USBC Strategic Plan and ensure its continuation by creating additional plan(s) using input, tools and resources. Further concerns are to measure USBC’s current standings, further identify USBC’s needs for a productive future and develop a timeline to meet those needs.

Committee members: Anthony Colangelo (chair), Mike Cannington, Bo GoergenChrissie Kent, Brittni LaGeorgeChrissy Lee, Chad Murphy, Nick Pate, Kristopher Prather. Staff liaison: Jeff Breidenbach


IBC Youth Committee

Purpose: Monitors and promotes youth programs. It makes recommendations regarding youth-specific benefits and events, youth leader programs, and elects the two Youth representatives to the USBC Board. This committee also presents recommended youth-related rule and bylaw changes to the USBC Board.

Committee members: Chrissie Kent (Chair), Robert Cincotta, Elizabeth De Werth, Chad Estes, Christopher Floyd, Brooklyn Gagnon, Angel Metsch, Matt Orvis, Allen Solomon, Becky Young. Staff liaison: Gary Brown

BPAA Board of Directors: Melissa McDaniel, Dennis Hacker

BVL Board of Directors: Darlene Baker, Anthony Colangelo, Dennis Hacker, Chrissy Lee

International Bowling Campus, Inc. Board of Directors: Cathy DeSocio, Chad Murphy

International Bowling Campus Youth, LLC Board of Directors: Melissa McDaniel, Chad Murphy

PWBA Hall of Fame Committee (USBC representatives): Dennis Hacker, Karl Kielich, Melissa McDaniel

International Bowling Federation Delegates: Melissa McDaniel. Alternates: Chad Murphy, Jason Overstreet, Dennis Hacker.